Skip to content

I’m Younger Than That Now.

November 8, 2011

Today is my birthday, and one year ago on this day I wrote my first blog post and it forever changed my life.

To my surprise (read ‘utter shock’) it was “Freshly Pressed” on WordPress and that post received over 5,000 views in one day. I would like to say that I didn’t let it go to my head, but my ego was properly inflated. Of course 5,000 people read my blog post, why wouldn’t they? I’m an above-average writer with an unfurled honesty and a quick wit. It was amazing really and it felt great, but it wasn’t that short-lived notoriety that changed my life.

Our wedding day!

The day I married my partner and best friend, the love of my life.

I wrote about turning 44 and how I wasn’t feeling old at all. In fact, I felt as immature as ever! I also made a comment in that post about how I had a hard time talking to women. It was really a small thing, I was just being honest, but that little comment made a huge impact on the direction of my life.

I shared the blog post on my Facebook page and received some fun feedback including an inbox message from a beautiful woman named Kristine. Kristine and I had known each other for some time and had become interested in each other at a mutual friend’s wedding reception. I had actually asked her to go running with me a few weeks earlier (my way of asking her out on a “date”) and she promptly said “no”. So I was a little surprised by her message on Facebook that day: “Great blog, by the way….you are welcome to talk to me anytime : )”. “Whoa”, I thought, “she digs me!” One little off-handed comment on my part followed up by that brief reply from Kristine boosted my confidence ten-fold.

“Quickly, beautifully, we fell in love.”

Two weeks later we went on our first date, a cold November night out in the suburbs of Chicago, and it was truly an amazing evening for us both. To say we hit it off would be a gross understatement. It was remarkably easy! It was our first date but we were so comfortable. We both immediately felt as if we had known each other our entire lives. Quickly, beautifully, we fell in love.

After my divorce I went through a period of cynicism where I could not imagine ever being married again. But after Kristine and I found each other, I simply could not imagine life without her. We had to get married. A few months after our first date we went on an amazing adventure to the island paradise of Kauai. I proposed to her during a breath-taking sunset on the beach at Hanalei Bay and she said yes.

We were married in June, just seven months after that cold Chicago night, and now we could not be happier or more in love.

The Perfect Sunset - Hanalei Bay, Kauai

The sky alive with color over Hanalei Bay. Moments later I asked Kristine to marry me.

Kristine brings an abundance of joy and happiness into my life every day. She inspires me to want to be a better man. She challenges me to learn and to grow spiritually, and she holds me accountable. Her smile is infectious; it warms my heart every time I see it (which happens to be many, many times a day, every day…). She’s witty, she’s funny, and she’s smart. Really smart. And like me, she’s a bit of a geek; she gets Star Wars and has read all the Harry Potter books. I find this quite sexy.

So what about that first attempt at getting her to go out with me for a run, why did she say “no”? It turns out she felt like she was too slow to run with me; she was embarrassed. Since then we’ve run together numerous times; I push her to run a little faster and she makes me slow it down a bit. We love running with one another these days; we spend that time together connecting physically, mentally, and spiritually.

“It’s funny how the Universe conspires on our behalf and all we have to do is get things moving.”

One year ago today, on my 44th birthday, I wrote my first blog post and unknowingly set in motion events that would bring me together with the absolute love of my life. It’s funny how the Universe conspires on our behalf and all we have to do is get things moving.

Today I turn 45 and I’ve honestly never felt younger or more undeniably alive. I don’t always feel like I’m learning and growing, but as I reflect on this past year I can see how far I’ve come, and how much more  fulfilling my life is today. It’s just been one year, but what an amazing year it has been. I was so much older then; I’m definitely younger than that now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 9:14 am

    Happy birthday, brother! Keep on keepin’ on. And as the Whole Earth catalog says, “Stay hungry. Stay foolish.”

  2. June 19, 2012 12:03 am

    This is the second time I’m reading this… And just as absolutely beautiful.

Leave a Reply

