Skip to content

Thankful for you.

November 25, 2010
Thanksgiving Day 2008
Miami Whitewater Forest – Thanksgiving Day 2008

It’s Thanksgiving Day.  As I take a good look at where things are in my life I notice I really have a lot to be thankful for.  I have a good job, I live in my own home, and I don’t have to go outside to use the bathroom.  There are leftovers in my fridge, my drinking water comes from a plastic bottle and not a polluted river, my kids are healthy.  The bills and mortgage are all paid up, I have a few dollars in my pocket and a few in the bank.  I’m sober, healthy, and I’m happy.

These things are the the end result though, the tangible evidence of hard work, determination, consistency.  When I really stop to think about what got me to this place, I keep coming back to you.

If you are reading this then you probably know me in one way or another. Whether you are part of my family, a friend, or a casual acquaintance, I want you to know how much you have done to help me along the way.  In case you forgot, or are not sure what part you may have played, here’s some of the things you did that I remember:

You loved me when I couldn’t love myself.
You believed in me.
You went to that Wilco show with me and we were properly blown away.
You got me laughing so hard I cried.
You shared your favorite songs with me.
You held my hands and we prayed when Mom died.
You let me play the shit out of the B3 at your party.
You ran 1,000 miles with me.
You helped me move.
You sent me that card in the mail that made my day.
You cheered me on.
You told me you were proud of me.
You invited me to coffee and made me feel part of.
You listened to me bitch about whatever petty problem was eating at me that particular day.
You hugged me at Dad’s funeral.
You asked me out because you knew I was too shy to ask you.
You told me things were going to get better, and they did.

Today, I am truly thankful for you.

I’m glad that you are a part of my life.

Happy Thanksgiving.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 10:30 am

    Thank *you*, brother, for those thoughtful, beautiful words on this day of gratefulness. And did you take that photo? What a great picture! It’s worth a thousand words…

  2. November 25, 2010 12:13 pm

    Great piece today. I’m thankful for a number of different people in my life and now that list includes you. Enjoy your day.

  3. Shona permalink
    November 25, 2010 1:46 pm

    Thanks for making my day cousin! Much love to you and yours!

  4. November 26, 2010 12:43 pm

    I don’t know you nor am I related to you, but your writing does make me feel inspired! It is so well written.

Leave a Reply

