Skip to content

I was so much older then.

November 8, 2010

I am 44 years old today.  Is that old?  I don’t FEEL old.  In fact, at times I feel as immature and confused as I did when I was 20 – I can’t keep money in the bank, I can’t talk to women, I just want to fit in and be accepted.  Next thing I know, I’m reaching for my reading glasses just to read a book and my age gets all up in my grill, a not-so-subtle reminder of just how far from 20 I am these days.

I used to think that by the time I was 40, I’d have it all, or at least most of it, figured out.  At their inaugurations, Theodore Roosevelt and John F. Kennedy were 42 and 43 respectively.  Those guys were the leaders of the free world when they were my age.  I just learned how to keep my house plants alive.

maturity

Equally mature at ages 20 and 40

I’m not in denial; one look at my kids and I see right where I am.

Jack is in high school.  Jack.  High school.  Little Jackie Pat (my Mom used to call him that…).  Didn’t WE just graduate from high school?  OK, I know it was 1984, but seriously…I am not old enough to have a kid in high school.  This time next year he will be driving.  I can’t even think about that right now, because when I do, I recall in HD clarity what I was like when I was in high school and driving, and I break out in a cold sweat.

Colin will be in junior high next year.  Colin.  Baby Naw-naw (Jackie Pat used to call him that…).  He’s almost 12 and sometimes I still forget that yes he CAN use the potty all by himself now.

44 doesn’t feel old, not to me, not today.  When I really stop and think about it, I felt much older when I was 20.  I smoked, I drank, and I poisoned my body in every way possible.  I couldn’t run across the street if I had to.  Today I’m healthy, clean, sober, I could run a marathon tomorrow if I wanted to.

Now if I could just talk to women…

102 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 11:23 am

    Pato,
    You make me laugh…and think. Good stuff! I hope you keep writing here. You have a knack for it. I’m on the verge of getting my slumbering blog back on its feet very soon. Thanks for sharing this!

  2. November 8, 2010 11:45 am

    I know exactly how you feel. The thing is…I never want to feel old. I refuse to…

    http://www.runtobefit.wordpress.com

  3. Teri permalink
    November 8, 2010 11:45 am

    Congrats on being FP! This should help with that whole talking to women thing. “Hey…did you hear about me? I’m that guy from the wordpress homepage…”

    Go get ’em Tiger. 🙂

    Teri

  4. November 8, 2010 11:45 am

    Age is a mental thing, don’t you think? I see people as old when they refer to themselves as old, or talk about how they cannot do a lot of work anymore because of their age (when they are quite capable of it). And you’re running marathons? Good for you, at whatever age!

  5. November 8, 2010 11:51 am

    Great perspective on things.

  6. November 8, 2010 11:58 am

    Great post! I’m 33 and have a son who will be in kindergarten next year. It’s already going by way too fast. I can’t imagine the day when he will be in high school! It’s very true that age doesn’t necessarily translate to how “old” you are. If only we could talk to our former selves, but then… Well anyway, thanks for the great perspective on life I think we all need to hear from time to time. Good luck!

    Ryan

  7. November 8, 2010 12:02 pm

    Happy Birthday! I did an “age is just a number” post today also. 44 is not old. You have a great attitude and thats all that matters anyways.

  8. November 8, 2010 12:08 pm

    you got freshly pressed in your first post~!!!!!! how cool is thaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat!

  9. November 8, 2010 12:09 pm

    It is my personal theory that learning to communicate with the opposite sex is a life-long struggle for us all. Of course if you mean learning how to start a conversation with one. You could always start with hi. You’re a pretty good looking fella and your smile makes me think you are probably a lot of fun…I don’t know why a lady wouldn’t like to have a chat with you!

    Crystal
    http://www.crystalspins.com

  10. November 8, 2010 12:09 pm

    aaliyah said it best “age aint nothing but a number” i know i am not as old as you are (23) but i still feel like i am in high school.

    http://enjoibeing.wordpress.com/

  11. November 8, 2010 12:13 pm

    Talking to women is totally overrated.

    Happy birthday 🙂

  12. November 8, 2010 12:14 pm

    I love your perspective – I’m 25 and still feel like a 16 year old…just with more bills. I don’t plan on having kids, and sometimes wonder what affect that will have on my “internal age”. Sounds like you’re physically younger than most 20-somethings these days if you could run a marathon tomorrow! Congrats on FP.

  13. dearexgirlfriend permalink
    November 8, 2010 12:32 pm

    im 29…some days i feel 40, some 20. its a weird age. thanks for giving some perspective.
    http://dearexgirlfriend.com/

  14. Teresa permalink
    November 8, 2010 12:38 pm

    Happy Birthday Patrick!! I am so proud of everything you are doing in your life and I know your parents are too. Beautiful sons, staying healthy both physically and emotionally, great attitude, nice bald head… Don’t worry about the women, they will come to you!

    Teresa

  15. November 8, 2010 12:49 pm

    Age is merely a state of mind! My mom’s turning 64 this year, and I continually remind her that she’s not allowed to ever feel old! Some of my kindest, dearest friends are a good 10-15 years older than I am (I’m 25), and they are gems because of who they are and who’ve they become since they were 20. I aspire to be like them, yet they never make me feel like there’s an age difference. Most of the 20 year olds I know/knew were too drunk to think of anyone but themselves…and kudos to you that you can run an entire marathon. I certainly don’t know of any 20-somethings who can claim that! Congrats on Freshly Pressed!

  16. November 8, 2010 12:53 pm

    Wow, I’m glad I saw this in Freshly Pressed. I’m around your age and just sized up my last 40 years this morning. I decided I should have flunked out of college and wasted my life on drugs. Then I wouldn’t feel so bad about my lack of accomplishments.

    I have five degrees ranging from associate’s to master’s. I’ve worked in law firms, hospitals, universities, insurance companies and now I own my own business. If I stopped there, you might mistake me for a success. But the rest of the story goes like this:

    At the pinnacle of my career I was laid off. I eventually took a job in a coffee shop which entailed cleaning toilets and serving lattes to the person I used to be. After six months I became gainfuly underemployed at a legal services non-profit. The next two years brought a failing economy, decreased federal funding, dwindling private donations and layoffs. I found myself in the soup line again. At my first job interview, where 233 people took the civil service exam for one opening, I decided to open my own business. Now I’m the village idiot peddling a small start-up in the worst economy I’ve ever lived in.

    Then, I read your post.

    I look at my youngest, a budding vocalist and straight A student. I look at my oldest, an accomplished musician on several instruments who’s poised for Juilliard. Both are well adjusted with many friends. They move through life in a deliberate forward direction.

    I have succeeded at learning from my failures and passing that knowledge on to my children so they are not doomed to repeat my history.

    • Aztec permalink
      November 9, 2010 4:55 am

      Thank you for sharing. I appreciate your openness, you have achieved a lot in your lifetime and also gone through adversities, yet you are so humble and level headed. I am sure your children will be a success and will learn a lot of life lessons from you.

  17. Brian permalink
    November 8, 2010 12:54 pm

    Patrick,

    Happy Birthday Bro! I want you to know what an inspiration you have become to me and a lot of other people. You’ve overcome quite a bit of adversity and have such an amazing positive attitude. It really is hard to believe we are all as old as we are, but we still have a LOT of living to do. I’m looking forward to our next run together.

    Brian

  18. Kim Pugliano permalink
    November 8, 2010 12:55 pm

    Happy Birthday! What a great gift to be Freshly Pressed.

  19. November 8, 2010 1:07 pm

    i was so much older then. i’m younger than that now. one of the best by the byrds and bobbie zimmerman. my wife says i’m an eleven year old boy at heart. thankfully, some things never change.

  20. November 8, 2010 1:22 pm

    Happy Birthday and congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

    I turned 46 in September, and posted a similar kind of entry.
    http://gumballgirl.wordpress.com/2010/09/16/where-has-the-time-gone/

    I sure don’t feel my age most of the time!

  21. November 8, 2010 1:23 pm

    I love this. We must all start going through these things when we’re somewhere in/near our 40s. You’re not old.

    Happy Birthday!

    http://godzillafun.wordpress.com/2010/08/30/random-rand-2-im-how-old/

  22. November 8, 2010 1:41 pm

    Love the post and the replies :). You are talking to women :). Just be YOU like you are here 🙂

  23. Kriz says... permalink
    November 8, 2010 1:45 pm

    Happy Birthday!

    I hope I can be this optimistic when I get out of my 20s!

    🙂

  24. November 8, 2010 1:49 pm

    Happy Birthday! What a delight to also be freshly pressed today :). On the age thing, it’s all relative. And, as my grandmother used to say, beats the alternative … Cheers to you on this happy day.

  25. November 8, 2010 1:50 pm

    Thanks to all for reading and sharing! I love the comments!

  26. November 8, 2010 2:02 pm

    You only feel as old as you want to feel.

    If you want to feel old and crumbly you will, if you want to feel young and whippy you will.

    44 isn’t old but then neither is 50 or 60 if you still want to feel and act young.

    Go out and steal a traffic cone or something, you’ll feel great.

    Cheshire house removals and man and van services

  27. November 8, 2010 2:06 pm

    Nice !

  28. nearlynormalized permalink
    November 8, 2010 2:16 pm

    Don’t grow up, it is a waste of time…Women will talk to you, enjoy.

  29. November 8, 2010 2:16 pm

    Independiente de la edad que se tenga, un grado alto de evolución se puede mostrar a los 20 o bien a los 70.

    El concepto de cuando y en que momento, pertenece al ambito de la Consciencia Ya que es la Conciencia la que evoluciona en el mundo de la forma, y no el cuerpo fisico ya que este es sólo un costal de huesos que tiene un momento de vida muy limitado.

    Tu grado de evolución y de Consciencia me parece muy buenos para la edad que tienes. La preocupación por el especto físico no son más que signos de alabanza al “ego” quien en su crueldad e infinita maldad, trata de distraernos para que no miremos el ilimitado poder del Espiritu que habita dentro de nosotros.

    http://jaimedariogomez.blogspot.com

  30. November 8, 2010 2:25 pm

    Hi Patrick-

    Please don’t get me wrong. I liked this post a lot. But I found your previous post to be more inspirational. Maybe it’s just me.

    Congrats on every aspect of your new life and my best to you.

    ~Mike

    mikelamonica.wordpress.xom

  31. November 8, 2010 2:36 pm

    You’re first post & Freshly Pressed, I’m jealous! Good for you! Happy Birthday & best of luck!

    evelyngarone.com

  32. November 8, 2010 2:43 pm

    Happy Birthday. Celebrate each one for your commitment to health. Celebrate each one because you are exactly as hot as you think you are. Celebrate each one for all the people who you love and who love you. Celebrate each one for all the people who aren’t here to celebrate theirs. I’m 63. I learned that when I was 47, when my best friend died. Now, each birthday is a joy. And they do keep getting better.

  33. November 8, 2010 2:46 pm

    Congrats on Freshly Pressed! Loved the houseplants crack…well done. I can’t imagine you can’t talk to women with the way you write. Happy Birthday!

  34. November 8, 2010 3:02 pm

    Happy Birthday 🙂

  35. November 8, 2010 3:30 pm

    Happy Birthday! Sounds like some good reflections!

  36. Johnny permalink
    November 8, 2010 3:43 pm

    Subscribed.
    Great writing.
    Great stories.
    Best,
    Johnny

  37. November 8, 2010 3:56 pm

    Happy birthday! Thanks for sharing, and no…44 is NOT old! I say you are 44 years young. 🙂

  38. November 8, 2010 4:05 pm

    I am 44 as well. When did that happen? I spent Friday afternoon in the Guidance Counselors’ office discussing scholarships & college applications for my daughter who will graduate in a few short months .
    I wish I knew now what I knew in ’84. On the other hand, thank God I’m not the hot mess I was back then. Regrets? A few. Proud moments? A few more.
    Congrats on making it this far. : ) Welcome to the dark side.

  39. November 8, 2010 4:28 pm

    Happy Birthday….

    Is 44 old? no I don’t think it is. To be honest when I was in my 20’s I used to hate the thought of being 30. Now I’m in my 30’s (36 next april) I am not dreading being in my40’s (and thats not just because my kids will be nearly adults haha by then) in some ways I am looking forward to it.

    Congrats on FP 🙂

  40. November 8, 2010 4:29 pm

    Happy birthday! I’m glad you’re so much younger now. Great post, well written. My favorite line: “I couldn’t run across the street if I had to. Today I’m healthy, clean, sober, I could run a marathon tomorrow if I wanted to.”

  41. November 8, 2010 4:40 pm

    I teach weight lifting classes for older adults. The particpants are, on average, 70 years old and in amazing shape. We squat, lunge, pump iron, and do 45 squat jumps every session. As impressive as that is, I marvel at their activity level outside of class. They all have way more of a social life than I do . . .

    I can’t wait to be old.

    Great Post . . . and Happy Birthday!

  42. Steven Berman permalink
    November 8, 2010 5:05 pm

    Great blog! It makes me think of how I’ll feel when I reach that milestone (I’m not that far off!). Keep staying positive and of course, you’re only as old as you feel.

  43. November 8, 2010 5:14 pm

    Hello.
    Reading your post make me remember a song… “Much too young to feel this damn old”, played by Garth Brooks.
    Sometimes.. that’s hust the way it feels, isn’t it?
    Greetins from Brazil! (and escuse my poor english…)

  44. November 8, 2010 5:33 pm

    Sometimes people says that Life begins at 3os or 4os.. Congrats ya sir, having all kind things in your life tha make you happy 🙂

  45. November 8, 2010 5:34 pm

    You look good for your age mate. If I look like that in 10 years time I’d be really happy!

    Happy Birthday – talking to women can be hazardous!

  46. November 8, 2010 5:34 pm

    Happy Birthday, and congrats on being Freshly Pressed! Tomorrow is my birthday, but, alas, I will be 54. That sounds so much older than your boyish 44. I often wonder how the hell I got this old. I have reading glasses in about every room of my apartment. I curse when I am on the elliptical at the gym because I can only go about 10 minutes before my hips start yelling at me to stop. I think it is hell to get older and if I could reach that above poster, I would have to slap her..lol…she says she can’t wait to get old. The hell you say.. Again, happy birthday. Great, inspiring post. Maybe I will try 11 minutes on the elliptical next time..lol Vickie

  47. November 8, 2010 5:52 pm

    Happy Birthday!! Thanks for sharing this grewat post!

  48. November 8, 2010 6:03 pm

    Dude. Nice post. Totally rad even. Have yourself an epic day. No, make it a week. Age is just a number you know?

  49. cookiemomma permalink
    November 8, 2010 6:16 pm

    OMG….My daughter just started high school and I haven’t been there since I went. The nastalgia was overwhelming when I walked into the gym for the pep rally. Once the band marched in and started palying the fight song, I felt like I was right back in high school myself. It’s just amazing to me how fast time did fly.

  50. November 8, 2010 6:36 pm

    You’re never too old to feel young… As long as you can learn new things, you can feel young, that’s what I say

  51. Benjamin Best permalink
    November 8, 2010 6:37 pm

    Thank you. I needed that…

  52. November 8, 2010 7:36 pm

    nice candid stuff! Can totally relate! Nice to know, you’re not alone… keep up the great work!

  53. November 8, 2010 7:39 pm

    Just two days ago I took a nasty tumble in my backyard. I very nearly impaled myself on the point of a picket of a white picket fence. The irony is not lost on me. I have a very tender spot on the right-hand side of my upper chest opposite my heart. I explained to a friend the series of unfortunate events which led to the fall. It involved a fallen tree branch, an itinerant cat, a wayward shoelace and treats for the neighbor’s pitbull terrier. After the five-minute explanation, my friend said, “We lose balance when we get old.” Sounds to me like we find balance, too. Like you, I’m after clean living. And even though sometimes I cry into my fists because what I really want is a drink (or maybe just to quash the unquiet demons–like water on the witch), when I wake up in the morning to my daugher’s singing to her music while she gets ready for school, I’m glad I didn’t. I’m 44, too. Ten years ago, people told me I looked 20. Now I look…oh, 44. But most days I feel like I’m 12. I’m lost and confused and heart-broken. Like 12. But I’m also less inclined to waste my precious little time crying about it. Not too much anyway. And I’m hopeful. That’s not a bad thing. Thanks so much for your blog. Impeccable timing.

  54. November 8, 2010 7:46 pm

    Happy birthday! Your post made me laugh 🙂 Personally, I don’t feel 37 at all. I also don’t look 37 – apparently I look 25 so that works for me. I think age is a number and nothing more; you’re only as old as you feel so if you’re young at heart, then maybe you’re not 44 after all! Now, if you could only talk to women….

    😉

  55. November 8, 2010 8:14 pm

    You can come talk to me. I’ll talk to anyone. You’re not alone. We all have these reflective moments around our birthdays after the age of 40. Go ahead, act like a child. You have an excuse now. It’s called a Mid Life Crisis and too bad if everyone laughs. As long as you’re enjoying yourself!

    Psst, I’m 49. I act like I’m 12.

  56. November 8, 2010 8:26 pm

    Haha, love it! You’re as old as you feel, and you seem to be doing just great. Kids growing up does give you a fright though doesn’t it :/

  57. November 8, 2010 8:33 pm

    That was a fun read. Congrats on being Freshly Pressed on your B-Day. 🙂

    Blessings,

    Ava
    xox

  58. November 8, 2010 8:34 pm

    I hope when I am in my 40s that I look back and feel older in my twenties as you put it. And 40s is not old. My grandma just celebrated her 91st birthday. She is old.

  59. ianyce permalink
    November 8, 2010 8:48 pm

    .,its great to hear that your healthy now than before, well age doesn’t really matters at all as long as you see all the pieces fall into the right place and oh i forgot its our birthday, so happy birthday and God bless 🙂

  60. ianyce permalink
    November 8, 2010 8:50 pm

    .,its great to hear that your healthy now than before, well age doesn’t really matters at all as long as you see all the pieces fall into the right place and oh i forgot its our birthday, so happy birthday and God bless 🙂

    .,psssssssT I’m now 20 he he he and i do feel the things you felt when you were at my age quite hard to deal with those kind of things esp. that I’m in college and hoping to graduate soon. . . 🙂

  61. November 8, 2010 9:01 pm

    “Youth is not a time of life, it is a state of mind.”
    -Samuel Ulman

    I like your spirit!

  62. November 8, 2010 9:15 pm

    Nice attitude! But I’m not feeling young those days, I’m afriad.

  63. November 8, 2010 9:19 pm

    i’m right there with you on this one.

  64. November 8, 2010 9:47 pm

    Really enjoyed this post. I’m 39 and my husband turns 44 this month. Relate-able on many levels. Congrats on your healthy lifestyle and attitude! Happy Birthday!!

  65. November 8, 2010 10:20 pm

    Patrick,
    So many relavent comments – yours and your “fan club” … I turned 60 on Halloween – I have no idea what 60 is suppose to feel like – or how I’m suppose to act … because I am still 16 and 20 and 30 and 45 and older than 60 on some days … and it is all a state of mind … feel how you feel … love yourself and you life and your kids! My daughter turns 40 next year – now THAT scary! lol

    Marie

    • kelliejwin permalink
      November 8, 2010 10:31 pm

      good advice, Marie!

  66. kelliejwin permalink
    November 8, 2010 10:30 pm

    Well, I’m a woman and I think you did pretty good! LOL I like a man who’s honest and up front. I can hardly believe that I’m 37. All my kids are catching up to me in height, my oldest is in jr. high and she is so much more sophisticated than I was at her age. Either I’m doing a good job as a mother or they are just making kids smarter! I don’t feel a day over 25, although, I’m much smarter than I was back then or is it just wiser??

  67. November 8, 2010 11:25 pm

    Hahaha, you make me laugh. Good moment to capture the picture.

    Greate post.

  68. November 8, 2010 11:59 pm

    I am going to let you in on a little known secret, deep down everyone feels the same way. Now that you know how she is feeling, you can talk to her! Happy Birthday and congrats on being Freshly Pressed. That alone will impress the intellectual woman 🙂

  69. ________ permalink
    November 9, 2010 12:02 am

    hahahaha 🙂 my dad touched 50 last year and my mums reaching 47 in 3 days. They both claim to be younger than me and my elder brother. haha you’re reminding me SO much of them right now.

    Congrats for FP 😀

  70. ayesha permalink
    November 9, 2010 12:59 am

    Hi Patrick…

    I will be completing my 26th year on Nov 21 this year… and I felt ollllllld… really OLD. But sometimes I do reminisce my childhood days… my little uniform, my Barbie dolls and love for ice creams.

    But after reading what you feel at 40… I think I feel like a teenager!!! Thank you.

  71. courtwrites permalink
    November 9, 2010 1:52 am

    happy birthday! mine is tomorrow!

  72. razzlemonster permalink
    November 9, 2010 2:29 am

    Gave me goosebumps. Brilliant!

  73. November 9, 2010 2:37 am

    Great perspective on things.

  74. November 9, 2010 2:45 am

    I really loved reading your post! And I’m totally diggin’ your outlook on your life. I also know what you mean…I turned 40 this year. It seems so surreal to me to be that “old!” I certainly don’t feel old!! And I refuse to…EVER!!! You only get old if you allow yourself to get old! I have a son who is in kindergarten. (I started late!) But I was just thinking the other day that my mom was my age when I was 20 years old. I can’t imagine what that would be like…I couldn’t fathom even being a parent when I was 20 and my mom had just started her parenting life. Sometimes I think she was deprived of some of her youth and that’s why she’s so “old” today…she was never really young at all. And that makes me sad. There must be a secret to youth in there somewhere…maybe you’ve discovered it. Hopefully I have, too!

    Congrats on your FP and happy birthday! 😉

    http://cleanfoodexperiment.wordpress.com

  75. November 9, 2010 2:47 am

    Oh, and talking to women…well, when it’s the right one, you won’t be able to STOP talking and it will be quite effortless! Hang in there! She’ll come around…

    In the meantime…relax! enjoy being! be yourself. 😉

    http://cleanfoodexperiment.wordpress.com

  76. November 9, 2010 2:49 am

    I really enjoyed reading this.
    dont worry the right women will come along but you have an amazing out look on life=)

  77. naritul permalink
    November 9, 2010 2:55 am

    I’m 21 and some ppl said that i’m more tha 21… face, body, even my mind
    i still wanna have some fun with my friends….and i realize, now i feel much2 older…
    and i hate it! i really wanna have some fun with my friends and enjoying my life… so hard…
    congrats for ur freshly pressed blog 😀
    there will be someone… at least u ever had it before… compare with me, i’m nothing… no romance life even once…

    Cheer up!!! 🙂

    ps: sorry about my english, still working with… hihiihi

  78. November 9, 2010 3:56 am

    You’ve got a great sense of humor–and most women love that!

  79. Karren permalink
    November 9, 2010 4:48 am

    I absolutely loved your post, I actually found it touching. Well done

  80. November 9, 2010 5:51 am

    My worst birthday was 24 as I though no-one was going to say “Oh well she’s only 24 you know”,
    I felt the reponsibility of my own actions from then more than I had done before.

    My grandmother on the other hand freely admitted to being mentally 18 when she was over 100, and she was still that stubborn determined sort of girl who leaves home at 16 ( in 1913) and makes it work.
    On the otherhand think back to starting school , there were kids there who were 5 going on thirty five.

    Best to think young and keep on enjoying life.

    Lemonaday

  81. November 9, 2010 7:14 am

    You feel your age the hardest just after University. When the contrast of lifestyles is still fresh and you know what you are missing.

    And when a person 10 years your junior asks to hide behind you in a club queue in order not to get bounced. Ruined my night.

  82. November 9, 2010 7:48 am

    I love to read this, honestly ^^. We’re never too old to do something great and nice.

    I’m 20 something. Sometimes I feel worry if I don’t fill it with great things and hard work, so that I’ll regret it when I turn to 40 😀

  83. November 9, 2010 7:49 am

    Hi Patrick:
    A very happy and blessed birthday to you. Well I am 48 and just going back to school to finish my BA and then go on to law school. I have over 25 years experience in the legal field. One of my professors assigned us homework to open and journal on wordpress, thus I happened to see your article. Haha I can so identify with all that you have said. I have 3 kids, my oldest daughter is 24 and second is my 22 year old son. I get a kick out of being complimented when I am with them that we all look the same age. The guys I hang out with at college are mostly younger than myself. I make it quite clear to them what my true age is and we are all just friends as I don’t want to be a cougar. They are cute and great eye candy but realistically, I just can’t take my eyes off one of my professors. He usually engages me in conversation after class and I really hope he’s not shy so that after he’s no longer my professor I wouldn’t mind hanging out with him. NO, not seriously dating. I’ve been married and divorced 2 times and want to just focus on school. I’ll think about the 3rd marriage after I’ve accomplished my goal of finishing school, but it would be nice to talk to him as he’s so interesting and cute!

  84. November 9, 2010 8:06 am

    Meh… If you could smoothtalk with women, they wouldn’t trust you. Little secret? We like it when men trip over their tongues trying to talk to us. It’s kind of cute. 🙂

  85. November 9, 2010 8:09 am

    Happy Birthday! How cool, freshly pressed for your birthday. =) I’m 25 and it’s comforting to read that you’re 44 and feel as young as you did in your 2o’s. “You’re only as old as you feel,” I’ve heard. My mom is 49 and for as long as I can remember she’s complained about feeling like she’s in her 80’s (or what she thinks an 80-something year old feels like). When I was younger and lived under her roof, I’d get worried about growing up and feeling old, like I was falling apart. Now that I’ve been out of her house for several years, I’ve realized that she actually has a lot of issues she should deal with, one being a pessimist. I’ve read about 80 year olds that feel great! Hell, I’ve met a few (I live in the senior citizen capital, Florida). It’s all about taking care of yourself and having a positive attitude.

    I enjoyed reading your post, thanks for blogging. Keep it up. =)

    PS. I have a son Jack, too. He’s 4. =)

  86. November 9, 2010 8:16 am

    Love your pictures, by the way!

  87. November 9, 2010 8:43 am

    Happy Birthday!!! 🙂 absolutely loved your post. I just turned 40 and have been going through similar thoughts although I don’t have kids. I feel like once I turned 40 I should instantly be and feel more mature, but I am childish and immature to my embarrassment and mortification. I thought I was the only one.

  88. November 9, 2010 9:13 am

    Congrats on your sobriety. Just my lame 2 cents, but I think that when we stop using chemicals or using some other coping mechanism, we have a delay in our emotional development. I walked into the door of a 12-step program a lot younger than I am, and not in a good way. I’m getting better, though.

    And who cares about talking to women? You’re freaking adorable, so just smile and wink. Trust me.

  89. November 9, 2010 9:58 am

    Wow, you’re a popular guy!

    Nice comments here. I’m 46, and have been going through the post-divorce, who-am-I-know, point in my life. What I’ve decided is that I can just be the best middle aged man I can be. In my work in helping people figure out what they want to do in their lives, I find it comes up that people wish for something but have no idea if it’s really possible. When we get in our 40’s, we start looking more at what’s possible.

    • Marie permalink
      November 9, 2010 10:51 am

      Ken – Smart you! We should all strive to simply be the best we can be ….. the rest will follow!

  90. November 9, 2010 10:02 am

    It seems to me, that you are doing just fine. I’ve always been of the opinion that we, as males, will never be able to talk to women. Just as long as you get over the fact that your son can use the potty when he’s in his 30’s, you’ll be ok.

  91. November 9, 2010 10:07 am

    Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed! And if you ask me, you’re young enough. After all, you just used the word “potty” in a sentence …

  92. trailerchick permalink
    November 9, 2010 11:52 am

    I am 33/F and single (no kids). I am SHOCKED by how different this stage of my life is vs. how I imagined myself to be at 33. In 2005, I owned a huge home and had a promising real estate career. I left Seattle to volunteer rescuing animals in New Orleans following Hurricane Katrina and I ended up staying there for 3 months. I have never been the same. I sold my house, left real estate in 12/07 and have experimented with living in ‘Intentional Communities’, Urban Farms and my latest experiment revolves around ultimate freedom – I bought a vintage airstream and I moving into to it to travel the country. At 33 years old, I’ve become a vegan, spend most of my time volunteering instead of working (with animals) and I am truly beginning to appreciate my relationships with other people. Anyway, I’m moving into the trailer on Nov. 19th and I have a blog to document my travels: http://www.trailerchick.com
    Cheers! -Kelly

  93. November 9, 2010 12:32 pm

    Age doesn’t come at people in years…it comes in seconds. Peace be with you.

  94. November 9, 2010 2:12 pm

    hmmm………… http://www.tanikist.wordpress.com

  95. November 9, 2010 5:18 pm

    i’m glad to hear that i’ll never feel old. well, at least not by the time i’m 44.
    great post

  96. Sara permalink
    November 9, 2010 6:15 pm

    Nice post Uncle Pat!! I know I can always count on you for a good laugh and inspiration!! Hope to see you and the boys soon!!!

Trackbacks

  1. I Like This Guy… « project me
  2. I’m Younger Than That Now. « a life relived.

Leave a Reply

